CPI(M) Condoles Passing Away of Le Kha Phieu

THE Communist Party of India (Marxist) expresses its deep sorrow on the passing away of former general secretary of the Communist Party of Vietnam, Comrade Le Kha Phieu, at the age of 89. Le Kha Phieu was born on December 27, 1931 in Thanh Hóa Province’s Dong Son district and served in senior positions in the army and the Party. He became a member of the Party Central Committee in 1991 and was the general secretary of the Party from December 1997 to April 2001.

Left Parties Statement

THE Left parties – Communist Party of India (Marxist), Communist Party of India, Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist)-Liberation, Revolutionary Socialist Party and the All India Forward Bloc – have, in a statement issued on August 10, jointly appealed to the people to:

Kisan, Worker Unions Gear Up for Big Struggles

A JOINT meeting of the central leadership of All India Kisan Sabha (AIKS), All India Agricultural Workers’ Union (AIAWU) and Centre of Indian Trade Unions (CITU) was held on June 9 to discuss the current acute distress and growing economic crisis in the country during the Covid-19 pandemic.  The meeting concluded that instead of taking effective measures to contain the pandemic, the BJP government is aggressively trying to centralise entire governance through authoritarian measures and fascistic intent.

CITU Supports Coal Workers’ Strike against Privatisation

THE Centre of Indian Trade Unions, in a statement issued on June 18, has welcomed the joint decision by all the federations and unions of workers to go for three days countrywide strike from July 2-4, 2020 in all coal mines and establishments in the country demanding scrapping of the government decision to allow commercial mining of coal by private sector including foreign entities, separating CMPDIL from Coal India Ltd and the move to privatise public sector coal mining companies in the process. 

Delhi: Take Criminal action against hate mongers

ON January 29, 2020, Brinda Karat, Polit Bureau member of the CPI(M) and K M Tewari, state secretary of the Delhi CPI(M) lodged a police complaint with Amulya Patnaik, the Delhi police commissioner against Anurag Thakur, union minister of state for finance and Parvesh Verma, a MP from Delhi for inciting communal enmity and extending threats by making statements that are perjudicial to national integration. Both the leaders demanded registration of an FIR against the two.


Subscribe to RSS - statement