Vol. XLI No. 47 November 19, 2017

TELANGANA: Left Parties Demonstrate Against Demonetisation

M Venugopala Rao

LEFT parties, including the CPI(M) and CPI, held a protest demonstration against demonetisation in Hyderabad on November 8. When leaders and workers of the Left parties took out a rally from Babu Jagjivan Ram’s statue at Basheerbagh x roads to Nehru’s statue at Abids, the police arrested them.  Leaders of the Left parties criticised that in the background of demonetisation, introduction of goods and services tax and other developments, the country’s economy deteriorated further.

Speaking on the occasion, Tammineni Veerabhadram, secretary of the Telangana state committee of the CPI(M),  said that Modi’s claims that demonetisation was a weapon against corruption, a fight against terrorism and a war against black money had turned out to be sheer bluff mastery.  While regressive GST was formulated by the Congress government, it is being implemented by the BJP government more ruthlessly. In serving vested interests of the corporate houses and attacking the economic conditions of the people, the Congress and the BJP are chips of the same block, Veerabhadram made it clear.  Unity of the Left, democratic and social forces is the alternative to such pro-corporate and anti-people parties and that that is going to materialise in Telangana shortly, he asserted.

K Narayana, secretary of the national council of CPI said, while the people of the country have been seeing Modi as  the culprit after demonetisation, the latter has been trying to continue to hoodwink them by claiming that the measure has yielded good results. Behind cancellation of the permission given by the police for demonstration of the Left parties against demonetisation, conspiracy by chief minister K Chandrasekhar Rao is lurking, he said. On various issues, the chief minister has been prostrating before the Modi government, Narayana criticised. Leaders of the CPI(M) S Mallareddy, N Narsimha Reddy, B Venkat, D G Narasimha Rao, M Srinivas and  leaders of  other Left parties  E T Narsimha (CPI), Govardhan and Chalapathi Rao (CPI-ML New Democracy), Babu (MCPI-U), Hemalatha (SUCI-C) and others participated in the demonstration.