June 15, 2014

Parliamentary Group Meets

THE parliamentary party group of the CPI(M), consisting of nine members of the Rajya Sabha, nine members of the Lok Sabha and  two CPI(M) supported independents of the Left and Democratic Front in Kerala, met on June 9 and decided about the group’s office bearers in both the houses.  According to the decision, P Karunakaran and Sitaram Yechury would be the CPI(M) group’s leaders in the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha respectively, while the deputy leaders will be Md Salim and P Rajeeve, respectively, in the two houses. Jitendra Chaudhury will be the chief whip in Lok Sabha and T K Rangarajan in Rajya Sabha. The parliamentary party group also elected a parliamentary party committee with Sitaram Yechury (Rajya Sabha) as the convenor. Other members of the committee are P Karunakaran, Md Salim and Jitendra Chaudhury, all of the Lok Sabha, and T K Rangarajan, Tapan Sen and P Rajeeve of the Rajya Sabha.