Vol. XLIII No. 11 March 17, 2019

CPI(M) Announces Candidates for Telangana

THE CPI(M) Telangana state committee has declared candidates for 3 Lok Sabha seats and 17 assembly constituencies. Md Afroze Samina, former chairperson of Khammam municipality and AIDWA central committee member is the Party’s candidate for Khammam Lok Sabha constituency. Nandyala Narsimha Reddy, CPI(M) Nalgonda district committee secretary is the candidate for Nalgonda Lok Sabha constituency and Cherupally Sitaramulu, CPI(M) state secretariat member and former MLC is the Party candidate for Bhuvanagiri Lok Sabha constituency.


CPI(M) Telangana state secretary Thammineni Veerabhadram along with secretariat member Cherupally Seetharamulu released the first list of candidates at a media conference on 26th March at M B Bhavan. Candidates for the three Lok Sabha constituencies; three assembly constituencies in Khammam district and one each in Nalgonda and Ranga Reddy districts were announced.


Speaking on this occasion, Veerabhadram said that the Party decided to come out with the first list without waiting for alliance talks to come to a conclusion because the time is short for filing nominations. The CPI(M) had already announced its intention of fighting from 4 Lok Sabha and 17 assembly constituencies in Telangana state.


Responding to questions, Veerabhadram said that the CPI(M) is open to allying with those political parties that are not having alliance with either Congress or BJP. Even Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) would be an option if it comes forward, he said. If CPI is willing to break from its efforts to ally with Congress or if TDP is willing to break from BJP, the CPI(M) would be ready to have adjustments. As is known, the CPI Telangana state unit is holding talks with Congress leadership and TRS for a joint alliance. Telangana PCC chief Ponnala Lakshmaiah visited the CPI state office, Maqdoom Bhavan to discuss the alliance issue. According to media reports, the Congress leadership is inclined for an alliance with CPI while TRS is not showing any interest in allying with Congress.


The second list of Party candidates was released on 01st April by Party state secretary Thammineni Veerabadhram and state secretariat members S Malla Reddy and Ch Sitaramulu. In this list, candidates for 12 assembly segments were announced. A final list would be announced on 05th April, said Thammineni.


Assembly candidates:

Constituency                     District                                   Name of Candidate

  1. Bhadrachalam             Khammam                              Sunnam Rajaiah

  2. Madhira                      Khammam                              Lingala Kamalraj

  3. Paleru                        Khammam                              P Sudershan

  4. Miryalaguda                Nalgonda                               J Ranga Reddy

  1. Nakirekal                   Nalgonda                                M Sarvayya

  2. Nalgonda Nalgonda Syed Hashim

  3. Ibrahimpatnam Ranga Reddy P Yadaiah

  4. Sangareddy Medak B Mallesh

  5. Patancheru Medak Md Wajid Ali

  6. Warangal East Warangal M Sreenivas

  7. Jangam Warangal A Malla Reddy

  8. Kollapur Mahbubnagar Jabbar

  9. Musheerabad Hyderabad M Srinivas

  10. Adilabad Adilabad L Raghavulu

  11. Nizamabad Nizamabad Sabbani Latha

  12. Banswada Nizamabad Noorjahan

  13. Ramagundam Karimnagar Y Akaiah






CPI(M) Andhra Pradesh state secretary P Madhu has announced that former CPI(M) Lok Sabha member Dr Midiyam Babu Rao will be the candidate for Araku Lok Sabha constituency in Visakapatnam district. He made this announcement to media persons while on a visit to the area. Further list of candidates for Lok Sabha and assembly constituencies will be announced shortly, he said.