Peoples Democracy newsletter

Peoples Democracy newsletter

AIFAWH Delegation Meets WCD Minister Anganwadi Demands Day to be observed on July 4

A DELEGATION of the All India Federation of Anganwadi Workers and Helpers (AIFAWH) under the leadership of Tapan Sen MP, general secretary, CITU met the minister for women and child development, Maneka Gandhi on June 17, 2014 and submitted a 16-point charter of demands. The delegation consisted of A R Sindhu, general secretary and K Hemalata, vice president of AIFAWH and secretaries of CITU and Usharani, Santosh Rawal and Kishori Varma, secretaries of AIFAWH.

The Intelligence Bureau Report

THE Intelligence Bureau report suggesting that foreign-funded NGOs are holding up the nation’s “development” could be dismissed as a silly piece of officialese, were it not for the fact that the government of India seems keen to use it not just for acting against some particular NGOs but for breaking down any opposition to the process of primitive accumulation of capital unleashed by neo-liberalism.

CPI(M) Opposes Narmada Dam Decision

The Polit Bureau of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) issued the following statement on June 13, 2014.
THE decision of the Modi government to go ahead with raising the height of the Narmada dam to 38.5 metres goes against the spirit of the Supreme Court judgement of 2000 which had made any such step conditional on putting into place relief and rehabilitation measures for those who will be affected.

People’s Miseries to Mount Exponentially

EVEN before the new government announced the schedule for the budget session of the parliament and the date when it would present its first budget has come worrisome news on the economic front. This has two dimensions – one for India Inc. and the other for the vast majority of our people. As we noted in these columns earlier, post-elections is the payback time for those who heavily financed the BJP election campaign and forcefully projected Narendra Modi as the `messiah’ of India Inc.

West Bengal Left Front will Observe 72 hours Sit-in Demonstration

THE Left Front will hold sit-in demonstrations from June 25-27 protesting the terror against the Left Front activists unleashed by the goons backed by the ruling party and attack on democratic rights as well as the livelihood of the common people of the state. The programme will highlight unprecedented attacks on democratic and constitutional rights of the people in the state.

Left Parties & Mass Organisations Protest against Tsundur Verdict

BOTH Andhra Pradesh and Telangana state governments must take initiative to see that a special bench of Supreme Court takes up the Tsundur massacre of dalits case immediately, said CPI(M) Polit Bureau member B V Raghavulu in Hyderabad. He was addressing a dharna in front of Hyderabad district collectorate office organised by ‘Struggle Committee for Justice to Tsundur Dalits’, Left parties, KVPS and mass organisations on June 16.

AIDWA Flay BJP Minister’s Remarks on Rape

IN a statement issued from New Delhi on June 6, the All India Democratic Women’s Association (AIDWA) strongly condemned the remark reportedly made by the home minister of Madhya Pradesh, Babulal Gaur, a day before. It was reported that on June 5 the minister had said “rape is a social crime which depends on the man and the woman; it is sometimes right and sometimes wrong;” and that “it is not possible for any government to ensure that rape is not committed.”


Subscribe to RSS - Peoples Democracy newsletter