BJP Igniting Flames of Hatred to Divert Attention from People’s Issues, Says Yechury

EVERY time a session of Parliament is about to begin, the ruling dispensation and the gangs protected by it come up with fabricated incidents and diversionary tactics to muzzle the debate on people’s genuine issues. The method behind this madness is coming to the fore day by day, CPI(M) general secretary Sitaram Yechury said speaking at a rally held in Kolhapur, Maharashtra on February 20, commemorating the first anniversary of Govind Pansare’s martyrdom.

Remembering Comrade Dasaratha Deb on His Birth Centenary

AS the oath-taking ceremony of members elected to the first Lok Sabha was in progress in Parliament House, New Delhi, in 1952, a Leftist member of Parliament from West Bengal drew the attention of the Speaker to a fair and handsome tribal youth and said, “He is Dasaratha Deb, elected to Parliament as a Communist candidate from East Tripura (ST reserved) seat. But still he is being hounded by police with arrest warrant. He has been elected while being in underground.” The Leftist member then urged Speaker G V Mavalankar to intervene in lifting the arrest warrant against Dasaratha Deb.

Harkishan Singh Surjeet Centenary Celebration held at Jamshedpur

THE year-long birth centenary celebration of Comrade Harkishan Singh Surjeet was inaugurated on August 31 at the Michael John Auditorium in Jamshedpur. The CITU district committee of Kolhan division and the AIDWA committee have initiated the formation of a broad based organising committee to observe the centenary. The campaign and preparations ran for more than a month and involved the release of a small booklet on the life and work of Comrade Surjeet.

Comrade N Sankariah Turns 94

VETERAN leader of the communist movement and one of the founder leaders of the CPI(M), Comrade N Sankariah turned 94 on July 15. Com Sankariah’s long political career spanning over seven decades included nearly eight years in jail. He is one of the 32 members of the National Council of the Communist Party of India who walked out of the National Council meeting and later formed the Communist Party of India (Marxist).


Subscribe to RSS - Observance