WEST BENGAL:Protest Sit-in in front of Petrol Pumps

SEVENTEEN Left parties in West Bengal have staged a protest demonstration in front of petrol pumps on October 30. This protest followed rallies and protest meetings against exorbitant price rise of petro products. The sit-in and demonstrations took place in front of a few hundred pumps throughout the state. The sit-in lasted at least for three hours.

Addressing a meeting in Kolkata, CPI(M) state secretary Surjyakanta Misra said petro prices were being increased by the central government itself. The centralisation of wealth has reached a peak. 73 per cent of wealth has been concentrated in the hands of the top 1 per cent. On the other hand, people are burdened with the crisis of the economy. The working people of our country are bearing the brunt of the crisis. Broader mobilisation against the policies of the central government is the urgent need of the hour.

Misra said, there are reserves of natural gas and petroleum in India too. But the central government has weakened public sector companies including the ONGC. Indian government has also succumbed to US pressure and has halved import of oil from Iran.

Left Front chairman Biman Basu participated in the sit-in. He said, petro prices have been increased by Rs 15 per litre in Modi regime. He has failed to implement any of his promises. Now they are trying to foment polarisation among people. In West Bengal, BJP is planning a ratha yatra to incite communal passion. Left will thwart any such attempt.

The CPI(M) has also staged a demonstration in front of the regional office of the  CBI on October 29. The meddling of centre in this premier investing agency and the ‘midnight coup’ was resented. Surjyakanta Misra, addressing the public meeting, decried politicisation of all important institutions by the BJP. He said, the main task is to defeat BJP. In West Bengal, we have to pool anti-BJP, anti-TMC votes. The meeting was organised by Party’s North 24 Parganas district committee. It was addressed among others by Gautam Deb, Rekha Goswami, Mrinal Chakraborty,  Nepaldev Bhattacharya and Tarit Topdar.

Newsletter category: