Odisha: Spontaneous Response to Kerala Flood Relief Collection

Ali Kishor Patnaik

CPI(M) Odisha state secretariat in its meeting on August 17  gave a call to all the Party units to take up relief collection immediately and appealed to Party members, sympathisers and people of Odisha to contribute generously to the Kerla relief fund. Till September 3, Party units have collected Rs 15,43,704 through cash, bank draft and cheques and online transfers to CMDRF Kerala. In about 100 centres in 20 districts of Odisha, CPI(M) units have collected donations from people, Party sympathisers and Party members. Collections are now continuing. CITU, Kisan Sabha, AIDWA, DYFI and other organisations have collected separately.

Apart from the collection by CPI(M) party units, in Bhubaneswar, the  state committee initiated to form Kerala Flood Relief Solidarity Committee under the chairmanship of Padmashree Bhavani Charan Patnaik, 97 year old eminent Freedom  Fighter. Eminent personalities from different walks of life like  Padma Bhusan Dr Sitakant Mohapatro,  Gyan Peeth Awardee and former chief secretary of Odisha, Padmashree Dr Deviprasnna Patnaik, Padmashree Prafulla Kar,  veteran party leader Sivaji Patnaik etc are the patrons. Janardan Pati, CPI(M) Odisha state secretariat member  is the coordinator, Ali Kishor Patnaik, state secretary is one of the convenors  and Jaganath Mishro, treasurer.  This committee went door-to-door in Bhubaneswar   and collected Rs 2,25,000 and sent to the CMDRF, Kerala. The spontaneity of the people to contribute is remarkable which was never seen earlier.

Apart from this, many more organisations, political parties have also collected relief fund for Kerala.

Immediately after the arrest of five  civil rights  and human rights activists and Left intellectuals in various places of the country, on August 27 itself, a joint  demonstration  of CPI(M), CPI, CPIML (Liberation), CPIML (Red Flag) and many civil society and human rights activists was held at Bhubaneswar.
At Berhampur, Cuttack and Balasore, joint protest demonstrations were staged. On August 31 again another protest demonstration was held at Bhubaneswar. Ali kishor Patnaik, Janardan Pati, Jaganath Mishro, Dusmanta Das, Suresh Panigrahi, Sisir Hui, state secretariat members participated in the demonstrations.

Newsletter category: