Current Issues

Lodge FIR against Amit Shah

IN a letter written to the chief election commissioner (CEC) of the Election Commission of India (EC), on April 7, the CPI(M) has brought to his notice the hate speeches being made by Amit Shah, a close aide of the BJP's prime ministerial candidate, Narendra Modi, and the BJP’s poll manager in Uttar Pradesh. To substantiate its charge, the CPI(M) has, along with its letter, enclosed the following:

West Bengal LF Delegation Meets Election Commission

A delegation of the West Bengal Left Front committee led by Biman Basu, chairman and accompanied by the CPI(M) leader in Rajya Sabha, Sitaram Yechury met the Election Commission of India on April 1, 2014 regarding the issue of conducting free and fair Lok Sabha elections in West Bengal and submitted a memorandum. It also enclosed a list of 35 letters written to the EC since December 19, 2013. The delegation comprised Rabin Deb from CPI (M), Manju Kumar Majumder from CPI, Joyanta Roy from All India Forward Bloc and Manoj Bhattacharya from Revolutionary Socialist Party.

Maoist Killings Condemned

The Polit Bureau of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) issued the following statement on March 12, 2014.
THE Polit Bureau of the CPI(M) strongly condemns the Maoist attack in Sukma district of Chhattisgarh, which has resulted in the killing of eleven paramilitary jawans, four policemen and a civilian.
This brazen ambush in a region which has seen repeated Maoist attacks highlights the inadequacies of the security strategy meant to deal with the Maoist violence.

Tripura Left Front Announces Candidate List

TRIPURA Left Front, on March 5, has announced the names of the candidates for the two parliamentary constituencies. LF convener Khagen Das announced that the LF in its meeting on March 5, has unanimously decided on the names of the LF supported CPI(M) candidates for Tripura West (general) and Tripura East (ST) seats. From Tripura West (general) seat LF candidate will be CPI(M) state committee member since 2012 and CITU state general secretary Sankar Prasad Dutta.

‘Throw out Congress, Prevent BJP’

ELEVEN non-Congress, non-BJP political parties resolved to work together to present an alternative before the people of the country for the coming Lok Sabha elections. They also issued a joint declaration that called for throwing out the Congress from power and defeating the BJP to prevent it from coming to power. Leaders of CPI(M), CPI, All India Forward Bloc, RSP, JD(U), Samajwadi Party, AIADMK, JD(S) and Jharkhand Vikas Morcha held a meeting on 25th February at Tripura Bhavan in New Delhi and released the joint declaration.


Subscribe to RSS - Current Issues